Mana BioBlitz    

"Men love to wonder,
and that is the seed
of science.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Research scientists specialising in the identification, classification and study of different groups of organisms are essential team members in the BioBlitz.
Why study different kinds of organisms?
  1. Biodiversity (to know New Zealand)
  2. Biosecurity (to protect New Zealand from pests)
  3. Conservation (to protect New Zealand's uniqueness)
Key members of the Bioblitz science team include:
  • NIWA
  • Massey University
  • Te Papa
  • Victoria University
Each of our scientists have a different name for their particular field of research. These names often end in "ologist" or "ist". And wow are they fascinating jobs!